Unit 1: Pt 5 Brighton Bokeh

On the Sunday after our first session I visited Brighton beach. It was a gloriously sunny Autumnal day. I was spending it with a fellow photographer, taking in the sea air & looking for a bit of inspiration.

I was using my 50mm lens, but it wasn’t doing much for me.

brighton_beach1920.jpg

My friend then took a lens out of his bag & fixed it to my camera. It was a Tamron SP 500mm 1:8. This is a mirror lens which my previous tutor, Zig, had shown us, but I’d never used one before. Put simply, it’s a cheaper version of a long-focal lens (£300 compared to £1k+).

What got me was when I put the lens on the camera, all functions were manual. Have to admit, I do quite rely on aperture priority & focusing. It suits my style of shooting, plus helps with my dodgy close-up eye sight. However, my friend was on hand with friendly advice on how to use it.

The first thing he mentioned was I’d have to put up the ISO, so I did. I then started to look at the world with my new ‘eye’.  The first thing that caught my attention was the reflection of the sunlight on the water.

Hmmmm, a bit over-exposed, so I reduced the ISO. I then took some consecutive shots while holding the camera as still as I could. None of the following have been edited.

I wish I’d taken some interval timer shots of this – would have made a great time lapse/dissolve piece similar to my last BTEC project.

I try to take some further shots, but my blurry, close-up vision just couldn’t cope.

Will take a bit of practice to get it right if I borrow the lens again. What I did like about using it was getting out of my comfort zone. Think I need a bit more of that!

When I got home later that day, I had a tweak with one of photos. Can imagine this printed on fine art paper. Something else to explore.

brighton_bokeh_01_1920

Ok, today wasn’t the best for photography, but it got me thinking about the current project. It was quite freeing just looking & experiencing rather than worrying about getting the ‘perfect’ shot. I caught the following on my phone’s camera:

My friend also captured me at work:

These are all reminders of a wonderful day that I’ll treasure forever.

Criteria Ref: Task 2.1

Leave a comment