Unit 2: Pt 11 Ideas Are Bubbling T 1 LO 1.1

With lots of museum visits & inspiration starting to kick in, time to commence my mind map for this project. After my visit to the Saatchi Gallery, I started to make some notes in my sketchbook. This is the initial draft.

 

 

This is the page after my class session on the 25th January 2018.

 

mde

 

So, what could I make of this?

For some reason, PORTRAIT was the central word. Something was niggling & pushing me to do this. I certainly have had a creative spark set by Anzari’s work. How a portrait can be changed through the mix of media. There’s a certain surrealist/Cubist influence to Anzeri’s appropriated portraits. The thought of using the eye/mouth as a focal point could be interesting.

If I am going to do a portrait, it had to be big – life size.

Feathers – this seemed to be featuring, especially after discovering Kate MccGraw’s work. Feathers & a portrait. Layers. Colours. Incomplete beauty. Angels.

When I got home later that day, drew the following sketch. The bus ride home was an opportunity to formulate some ideas – this was my first step on getting something onto paper.

 

double_head_sketch_1920.jpg

2 thoughts on “Unit 2: Pt 11 Ideas Are Bubbling T 1 LO 1.1

  1. theriabot

    Something that may link to further investigation is to look into the symbolism of feathers and/or crow/crow feathers… this may lead to photographers and artists using these items to represent broader topics

    Like

Leave a comment